Monthly Motorsport Round-Up – July 2017 Monthly Motorsport Round-Up – July 2017
International: In International News, open wheelers were the name of the game this past month. Formula 1 was at an all time high with... Monthly Motorsport Round-Up – July 2017


In International News, open wheelers were the name of the game this past month. Formula 1 was at an all time high with Mercedes showing their straight-line prowess over the prancing horse of Ferrari. With only one point being the difference, Lewis Hamilton and Sebastian Vettel will want to secure dominance at the Hungarian Grand Prix this coming weekend.

Formula One: Austrian, British & Hungarian Grand Prix

Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas drove a masterly race to secure victory – his second of the season – at the Austrian Grand Prix, finishing just 0.6s ahead of world championship leader Sebastian Vettel for Ferrari. Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo was third after fending off Lewis Hamilton in the closing stages. Hamilton started 8th on the grid after a Gearbox change cost him deeply.

Image courtesy of

The lead up to the British Grand Prix read a very similar story to that of Austria, with Mercedes receiving yet another grid penalty. While the cause was the same being a gearbox replacement, it was Hamilton’s teammate, Bottas, instead who received it. The weekend was full of disappointment, surprise and celebration, with the name of strategy working for some, and not so much for others.

Lewis Hamilton won the British Grand Prix for the fifth time and matched the record of Jim Clark and Alain Prost. The championship lead was cut to just a single point after late tyre drama hit both the Ferraris. This allowed Valtteri Bottas to grab second from Kimi Raikkonen to secure a Mercedes one-two, as Vettel trailed home in seventh place.

Image courtesy of

Sebastian Vettel led teammate Kimi Raikkonen home for a Ferrari one-two at the Hungarian Grand Prix held on July 30th. The Silver Arrows had no answer to the Scuderia, despite Vettel complaining of steering issues, Valtteri Bottas took third ahead of Hamilton, just in front of a recovering Max Verstappen, who had been penalised 10 seconds for taking his Red Bull team mate Daniel Ricciardo out of the race on the opening lap. With Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton finishing fourth, it means Vettel extends his championship lead to 14 points heading into the summer break.

Image courtesy of

Local: Commando Super Cross

In Local News, the Commando Super Cross took place on the 16th of July. The special gravel track is situated at the commando training camp in Kuda Oya. This track is by fact the longest and one of the fastest on the racing seasons map. The supercross implemented a World Rally Cross style special lap fondly referred to as the ‘joker lap’. During the 8 laps of the race it was mandatory for all the drivers to include the joker lap at a point. This would mean that the driver would have to make a decision as to when he would take the special lap and either gain an advantage or lose out on it. This joker lap was only used in the SL–H and the SL-GT super car event.

Talented youngster Kushan Peiris once again proved to be the man to watch as he was adjudged the best driver of the day for his double victory in the SL-GT event. It was Kuhan’s first double win in this category whilst driving a new Mitsubishi Evolution VII. Ishan Dassanayake once again was in fine form as he received the award for the best rider at the supercross for his double victory as well.

In other news, the Sri Lanka Automobile Sports (SLAS) appointed a new committee to oversee all motor sporting activities in Sri Lanka at their Annual General meeting.

The new committee is as follows:
President – Mr. Dilhan Jayawardane
Secretary – Mr. Rizvi Farook
Vice Presidents – Mr. Suranjith Premadasa & Mr. Kalinga Samaraweera
Asst. Secretary – Mr. Hamaz Fowzy
Treasurer – Mr. Rizmin Razik
Asst. Treasurer – Mr. Upulwan Serasinghe
Committee members – Mr Pubudu Wickramage & Gamini Kavikara (SLARDAR), Mr Mahesh Gammanpila & Jayantha Gammanpila (SLADA), Mr Dilshan Dodanwela & Mr. David Todd (MRC), Mr Mahen Hurulle & Ryan Todd (CMSC), Mr.Asher Hameen & Mr. Andrew Silva (SMSC), Mr. Anil Jayakody & Mr. Ajith Hemachandra (SLMCC), Mr.T.G N Gamini & Mr. Malaka Herath (NMSC), Mr Ryan Grey & Shehan de Tissera (Colombo MSC), Jaliya Jayasekara (AMRC)

Words: Andrew Choksy

No comments so far.

Be first to leave comment below.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *